Wait And See – Diamond Rings

Watch/Listen here:

This is a local Toronto band I’ve taken a shine to in recent months. Diamond Rings is just the stage name for John O’Regan. This song is from a very good album called Special Affections. John used to be a member of the post-punk band D’Urbervilles which some of you locals may remember.

Lyrics here, more below:
Falling into something different
How should I know?
Whether I should trust my instincts
Farther than I can throw

Playing with a double-decker
Changing the rules
Hanging down and out past midnight
With the freaks and the ghouls

Feeling like a bit-part actor
I work in-between the lines
Saving up for something faster
I’m waiting upon my time
For your heart’s sake

Don’t you wait around
For me to decide
What I want to grow up to be
I’ll just let you down
If I do decide that
I just want to wait and see

Memories of verbal violence
Talk in my face
Retaliating with silence
Running away in place

Chancing upon situations
Out of my league
I just need some provocation
And I’m down on my knees

Feeling like a bit-part actor
I work in-between the lines
Saving up for something faster
I’m waiting upon my time
For your heart’s sake

Don’t you wait around
For me to decide
What I want to grow up to be
I’ll just let you down
If I do decide that
I just want to wait and see
repeat 2x

Don’t you wait around
Don’t you wait around
Don’t you wait around
Don’t you wait around

I just love the guy’s voice. It’s deep but not crazy deep but still manages to sing instead of talk-singing you often hear with that type of voice. And the song itself makes me think about bad decisions. We’ve all been there. Whether work, friends or relationships, we all make them. And so often we are rushing through life so fast we never take a second to think, breathe and really evaluate what we’re doing. So I love that he’s saying go on ahead while I take a pause. Too often we follow. Let’s look at where we are and whether the path is the leading us to joy or stright to hell!

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

