Tired

I feel like I’ve been staring
At your face for days
The question arise
The answers sparse
With no end in sight

First you said you didn’t
Then you admitted it
The truth a nice touch
An unusual moment
Flicking on a light

I thought there’d be relief
More like a short shot
To the sternum
Or the ribs
But really the heart

I listened to you pack
With detachment
Was I supposed to cry?
But it felt more like
A fresh start

It’s been awhile since I stared
At your face for days
I walked where I wanted
Stopped where I felt like
And you aren’t there to say

I guess it would be fair to say
It was right, alright
Not quite missing you
I think back with a smile
To how you left that day

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

