Albatross – Big Wreck

Listen/Watch here:

You may know this band. You may know songs like My Luck Is Wasted, That Song or Blown Wide Open. You likely have though you may not realize who it was. Big Wreck was very big back in the late 90’s. I was happy to see them return after so many years. I have to think this was a pretty fine way to re-enter the market!

Lyrics here, more below:
One last cup of star light
Before I wake
And start my day

A past so filled with promise
Before I lost
I lost my way

Oh that’s ok
And I’m alright
I guess I’ll be lost again
For one more night

Oh and that’s alright
I’m ok
I’ll wear the albatross
For one more day

As a rest recalls the romance
Before the bills
And what you make

I lost my friend in between them
And that was more
Than I could take

Well that’s ok
And I’m alright
I guess I’ll be lost again
For one more night

Yeah well that’s alright
And I’m ok
I’ll wear the albatross
For one more day

Well that’s ok
And I’m alright
I guess I’ll be lost again
For one more night

Oh well that’s alright
And I’m ok
I’ll wear the albatross
For one more day
I’ll wear the albatross
For one more day
I’ll wear the albatross
For one more day

And because I Know
I’m alright

First things first. Anyone who can properly work ‘albatross’ into their lyrics is okay in my books! What makes this song for me is the simplicity of the story in combination with some great music. The story is about love and losing someone. And the willingness to carry the blame for what happened. With that comes the unspoken hope of forgiveness, knowing it may never come. I think the music really works for this one. That chiming in the guitar really seems to be the hope in the song.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

