Half Moon – Blind Pilot

Watch/Listen here:

Blind Pilot has been around since about 2005 and they are really hitting their stride in the last year or so. Based out of Portland, Oregon, their first album, 3 Rounds and a Sound really opened a lot of eyes. Their most recent album, We Are The Tide has taken the groundswell to whole new levels. I’ve been duly impressed by the growth and the hard work they put into it all.

Lyrics here, more below:
That morning sky gave me a look
So I left while you were sleeping
That’s all it took

And I chalked a line south down the coast
Going where my thirst was open
For the things that I don’t know

Going where I wasn’t paying
For the hurt that I owe

One half moon sleeping by the creeks
And a woman put me under
Her barn roof for a week

I knew her voice before she spake
I saw a grave dug by a preacher
Just to see what it would make

So hold high how faint your reasons
Boy, you’ll never get on
Don’t you forget you come from nothing
Boy you’ll never get on

That wind is calling my name
And I won’t wait
Or I’ll never get on

It’s not hard to live like a ghost
I just haunt all that I’ve wanted
And leave what I don’t

I dreamt a trail up to the sky
And my brothers built propellers
Just to see how far they’d fly

So hold high how faint your reasons
Boy, you’ll never get on
Your flashing sparrows chasing with them
Boy, you’ll never get on

Don’t you forget you come from nothing
That wind is calling my name
And I won’t wait
Or I’ll never get on

That wind is calling my name
And I won’t wait
Or I’ll never get on

So hold high how faint your reasons
So hold high how faint your reasons
So hold high how faint your reasons
That wind is calling my name
And I won’t wait
Or I’ll never get on

I love the mystery of the lyrics here. Someone running both from all the wrongs he’s done as well as to whatever is calling him. You feel that he thinks he’s managed to escape what’s behind him but you know that isn’t the case. He will keep on that open road or he’ll drown in some form of guilt and shame. I also love the comment on propellers. It is like the road and the run are a family trait. How they deal with pain, by running. The sparrows came to me turn signals blinking the direction away. Just brilliant with a musical backdrop that is heart and legitimacy for the story.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

