Cellophane

As I stood in the middle of the street
People all around
Staring
Like I was some kind of freak

They laughed as they watched
Nudging their friends
Curious
As to what brought me here

I looked as they looked
I had no mouth
No voice
As they gathered

Rend open by the pain
Bent soldier of the sane
I heard the endless refrain
Wrapped in cellophane
Breathing fogging up my brain
In front of a speeding train
Soul laid bare in the rain
Wrapped in cellophane

I spun trying to find a way out
Crowds blurring with the speed
Unfocused
Melting and melding to one

Faster and then I stumbled
No idea on earth or sky
Reverberating
My fall began in earnest

A hush fell on my audience
I missed the ground completely
Flying
Never to be seen again

Rend open by the pain
Bent soldier of the sane
I heard the endless refrain
Wrapped in cellophane
Breathing fogging up my brain
In front of a speeding train
Soul laid bare in the rain
Wrapped in cellophane

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

