At Transformation – The Tragically Hip – updated Official Video

Watch/Listen here:

This is the latest song from The Hip. That was updated with the offical video. This is classic Hip with the driving guitar and the hard-edged back beat that gives their live performances such luminosity.

Lyrics here, more below (note this is my take from what I can make out – correct at will):
Gently breathe
And lit by the morning sun
Through the night
It’d been raining venom

I don’t want to be kind
Not a bullet in the right place
Or just of two minds
More important than important

I want to help you lift enormous things
A pinch
A sting
I don’t feel a thing
But as the earth revolved
Around the sun

All the shadows
Waiting around the last glance
A dream will be
And here comes the night

All of this tiptoeing
Past all our most famed building
I say this all now because
I didn’t really was happening

I want to help you lift enormous things
A pinch
A sting
I don’t feel a thing
But as the earth revolves
Around the sun

I could see it all at once
Oh what a glittering chance
In my head the game goes quiet
And I could see it all at once

Then you’re in
You’re not the girl
A kid before the rapids
But in my head the game is quiet
Oh what a glittering chance
Oh what a glittering chance
Oh what a glittering chance

At transformation
Oooooo
At transformation
That’s my dream of being
That’s my dream of being
That’s my dream of being
That’s my dream of being

I have probably said it a thousand times but it still applies after all these years. Gord Downie writes the most interesting lyrics. They are always left to some form of personal interpretation. To me this speaks to the endless, restless mind. The life of someone who has struggled and sees no end. But he wants, oh but he wants. He wants that chance to change. To morph. To be the picture of who he always wanted to be. And I’m left feeling with doubt that he can get there but with just a spark, maybe it can happen.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to At Transformation – The Tragically Hip – updated Official Video

  1. I considered the optic the most complexes subject I ever try to figure it out, if I can see everything, is thanks at light phenomenon, every person has his on perception about it, the color doesn’t exist, I had been walking through the forest during the wonder sunny day, raining and the middle of the night with and with out moon, and my eyes had been adapted at every situation, but in the end is only the color through my imagination.
    The music and letter, I love it, I love intelligent music!.

  2. Mary says:

    “A kid b4 the rapids”

  3. The-Last-Recluse says:

    Second on the glittering chance. Also, It’s “BUT as the earth revolves around THE SUN”. “I ONLY say this now because”. “All of the tiptoeing, past our most famed building”.

  4. Timbo says:

    I believe the line before Gord sings the title is “Oh what a glittering chance”. Not 100% though

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Yeah, I kind of hear that but not sure either. Oh well, great song anyway! Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

