Destiny

I listened to you so very carefully
Gleaning each and every nuanced message
I looked you hard there in the eye
To see if I could cause you to flinch

I stood and pondered the deeper meaning
And medically induced my own thoughts
You shone like a beacon of hope
You wore the great shield of the right

Wisdom was the countenance
Passion was your frame
Strength and truth were the armour
The staunchest of allies in the flame
And when the shroud was cut away
And the truth finally allowed to shine
Your failure was one of integrity
I pray and I hope that in due time
You will know what is meant by destiny

Your reaction was less than surprising
Your anger more expected than time
The facade of your self-serving nature
Started crumbling like an eroding campaign

When the screaming and yelling soon started
I turned and just slowly walked away
As useless a liar as I’ve ever known
A man whose respect was just buried

Wisdom was not your countenance
Passion was your false-bottomed drawer
Strength and truth were non-existent
The staunchest of allies in the mire
And when the shroud was cut away
And the real you removed from the brine
Your failure was one of simple sanity
I pray and I hope that in due time
You will come to face your own vanity

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

