I Watched You Walk Away

I watched you walk away

I never saw it coming
It was never what I wanted

You spoke like you were ordering lunch
I’ll have the ‘I’m leaving you’
With a side of ‘I can’t deal with this’
And a large ‘Go fuck yourself’ with lime

My regrets are growing by the minute
Groveling and crying like a boy

I watched you walk away
And we can never go back

You said I had changed
You said I was boring
Well which is it?

On a morning like any other
It became a day that made me shudder
Not sure but I think
I should thank you

I watched you walk away

And as I pull myself together
Quickly, surprising
I look back at it now
And wish I’d just waved

As I watched you walk away

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

