Angels – The xx

Watch/Listen here:

It’s been a long time coming. You may remember a great song I blogged about awhile back called Crystalized. You can listen/read all about it here. Nice to see this band with some new stuff!

Lyrics here, more below:

Light reflects from your shadow
And it is more than I
Thought could exist
You move through the room
Like breathing was easy
If someone believed me

They would be
As in love with you
As I am
They would be
As in love with you
As I am
They would be
As in love with you
As I am
They would be
In love, love, love

Every day
I am learning about you
The things that no one else sees
And the end comes too soon
Like dreaming of angels

And leaving without them

And leaving without them

Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love, love, love
Love, love, love
Love, love, love

And with words unspoken
A silent devotion
I know you know what I mean
And the end is unknown
But I think I’m ready
As long as you’re with me

Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love with you
As I am
Being
As in love, love, love

This is one of those rare songs. The music by itself is one thing. The lyrics by themselves another. But together, they’ve become a living, breathing organism. Something you can feel. Really feel, in your gut. I love when I can close my eyes and the song just takes you on a journey. Floating. Like angels. No irony whatsoever. This is ethereal, poignant and beautiful. And oh so worth the wait.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

