Molly Ringwald Is Dead – Love Supine

Watch/listen here:

I literally just ran across this band. Well, no, I mean I just found them! Based in Phoenix, Arizona, this indie, alternative (and according to them, slightly goth) band has a new album called Soundtrack to Life, Love and Drugs. This song has an 80’s feel for obvious reasons but also a very distinct indie bent to it. You can ‘pay your own price’ for the album here!

Lyrics here, more below:
Molly Ringwald
Doesn’t like to be at home
She doesn’t want to
Have to put her life on hold

She’s the one that
Doesn’t like to do what’s told
She’s a woman in the sense
She thinks she’s old

Molly Ringwald
How did she become so bold?

Molly Ringwald
Is so full of angst today
She loves to dive in
Headlong to adversity

She’s the one that
Brushes all her fears away
She’s the one that
Loves to waste another day

Molly Ringwald
How can she maintain that pace?

Because she’s dead!
I get down low
I want to be
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

I want to be
I want to see
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

Molly Ringwald
Thinks she has her life controlled
She doesn’t have to
Think about what’s sensible

She’s the one that
Loves to instigate trouble
Cause she thinks that
Life is tedious and dull

Molly Ringwald
How is she invincible?

Because she’s dead!
I get down low
I want to be
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

I want to be
I want to see
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

Want you dead now
Want you dead
Want you dead now

I get down low
I want to see
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

I want to be
I want to see
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

I want to be
I want to see
Don’t you see that?

I want to be
I want to be
Don’t you see that?

Molly, Molly Ringwald
Molly, Molly Ringwald
Molly, Molly Ringwald is dead

As much as this song appears to be delineating the life and times of this ubiquitous 80’s mesmer, I really think it is a statement of life today. Basically that the 80’s are done, dead and let’s move on. The description of her feelings of angst (a common 80’s descriptive) is mocked for its falsehood and put to bed against the very real angst that we are dealing with now. There are no preppy colours and wonderwall today.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Molly Ringwald Is Dead – Love Supine

  1. Pingback: Nice Words From A Twitter Friend - A Love Supine Review | Love Supine

Leave a Reply

