Madness – Muse – A U2 Joint?

Give this a listen and then I have a question.

Did that make you think of anything? As you can see in this article, U2 has had an impact on Muse. And after listening to Madness (from the new album The 2nd Law), I have to agree (lyrics below as well if interested).

Maybe you’ll see this but maybe you won’t. My first thought was that this was a slower version of Lemon (video below). Curious if anyone agrees or has some other thoughts. Feel free to share in the comments section.

Here’s the Lemon video:

Madness Lyrics:
(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)

I, I can’t get these memories out of my mind,
And some kind of madness is started to evolve.
(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)
I, I tried so hard to let you go,
But some kind of madness is swallowing me whole, yeah
(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)

I have finally seen the light,
And I have finally realized,
What you mean.
Ooh

And now I need to know is this real love,
Or is it just madness keeping us afloat?
(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)
And when I look back at all the crazy fights we had,
Like some kind of madness
Was taking control
(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)
Yeah

And now I have finally seen the light,
And I have finally realized,
What you need.
Mmm

And now I have finally seen the end
(Finally seen the end)
And I am not expecting you to care
(Expecting you to care)
But I have finally seen the light
(Finally seen the light)
I have finally realized
(Realized)
I need to love
I need to love

Come to me,
Trust in your dream
Come on and rescue me.
Yes I have known, I can be wrong
Maybe I’m too headstrong
Our love is…

(Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma)
Madness

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Madness – Muse – A U2 Joint?

  1. Phil says:

    Influenced? Upon initially hearing, “Madness” I was convinced it was U2.

  2. Armando says:

    It would be wonderful to listen to U2 singing it as a cover!!

  3. mo says:

    i thought it was the newest u2 song when i first heard it. great track

  4. Dong Juan says:

    Clearly ripping U2 off and doing it well. Also reminds me of The Fly.

  5. laura says:

    Good observation between both bands (muse & lemon), but daaang muse kicks ass! Not even close 🙂

  6. nimaiy says:

    I’ve just heard Madness on the radio and the influence of U2 struck me!
    Found this article while searching if I were the only one to make that relation… :p

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Certainly not the only one! Starting with Muse themselves I guess! Thanks for sharing that story. I appreciate you taking the time!

      Larry

  7. larrylootsteen says:

    It was the first thing that popped into mind listening. A slower version of Lemon. Not a dup of it. Just reminded me of it on some level. But slower. Definitely slower. Or I am way off! But hey, that’s what hit me! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Much appreciated!

  8. gonna listen to Lemon again….. 🙂

  9. I completely and utterly adore this song! There are just no words…. Im sooooooo ready for some new Muse! Im not hearing the Lemon though… and I live and breathe U2… BUT! I do hear some Freddie Mercury in there and some Brian May riffs…. maybe??

Leave a Reply

