Doom and Gloom – The Rolling Stones

Watch/Listen here:

Unless you are living under a rock, The Stones are celebrating their 50th anniversary this year. As part of a coming package and tour stops, they have recently released this new track.

Lyrics here, more below:
I had a dream last night
I was piloting a plane
All the passengers were drunk and insane
I crash landed in the Louisiana swamp
Shot up a horde of zombies
But I come out on top

What’s it all about?
It just reflects my mood
Sitting in the dirt
Feeling kind of hurt

All I hear is doom and gloom
And all is darkness in my room
Through the light your face I see
Baby take a chance
Baby won’t you dance with me?

Lost all that treasure in an overseas war
It just goes to show you don’t get what you paid for
Battle to the rich and you worry about the poor
Put my feet up on the couch
And lock all the doors
Hear a funky noise
That’s the tightening of the screws
I’m feeling kind of hurt
Sitting in the dirt

All I hear is doom and gloom
But when those drums go boom boom boom
Through the night your face I see
Baby take a chance
Baby won’t you dance with me?
Yeah
Baby won’t you dance with me?
Oh yeah

Fracking deep for oil
But there’s nothing in the sump
There’s kids all picking
At the garbage dump
I’m running out of water
So I better prime the pump
I’m trying to stay sober
But I end up drunk

We’ll be eating dirt
Living on the side of the road
There’s some food for thought
Kind of makes your head explode
Feeling kind of hurt
Yeah

But all I hear is doom and gloom
And all is darkness in my room
Through the night your face I see
Baby come on
Baby won’t you dance with me?
Yeah, yeah
Baby won’t you dance with me
I’m feeling kind of hurt
Baby won’t you dance with me?
Oh yeah
Come on
Baby won’t you dance with me?
I’m sitting in the dirt
Baby won’t you dance with me?

I’m going to be blunt. I hate this song. And to be fair, I’ve never been a huge Stones fan. That said, there have been plenty of songs they’ve done that I’ve enjoyed, even loved. This is just not one of them.

This song starts out like a ZZ Top ripoff. It just does. Waiting for ‘She’s got legs’ right out of the gate. This does not sound like a Rolling Stones song. Why would they do that for a last gasp? Beyond that, lyrically this is words in search of relevance. Like Mick decided to bring up a bunch of social issues to bring some meaning to this. Unfortunately it comes across as a giant mess. Yes, let’s talk fracking and ask if baby wants to dance with me. Right. For the love of all that is holy, GO AWAY STONES. I would rather have heard an unreleased track from their heyday then this bullshit.

If this marks the end of the many eras, say thanks. You were great once. That was decades ago. The red door awaits. walk on through, skip the black paint.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doom and Gloom – The Rolling Stones

  1. Allie says:

    If you want people to take you and your blog seriously, I suggest you stop using words such as ‘bullshit’. This is your opinion, and the strong belief with which you drop these adjectives will not make the song worse than this post.

  2. Peter says:

    In reply to “your” opinion about the Stones’ new song Laurie Loosenup, I’ll quote a Monty Python line ” what a load of rubbish”.
    Everyone has a great period in their life and the Stones have had 50years of it.
    All you’re doing is throwing “Doom & Gloom” on the party of life.

    You’ve no “oil in your sump” my friend.

    Merry Christmas and hope Santa comes and deposits a bit of GRRR In your stocking 🙂

    • larrylootsteen says:

      hahahha fair enough! You seem to think there’s some ‘beautiful plumage’ left. Alas I do not! And I hope no GRRRs this year!! Enjoy the holidays and thanks for sharing your thoughts! Always appreciated…

Leave a Reply

