Angel of Love – Depeche Mode

Watch/Listen here:

The latest from this amazing band. This song is a stunner to me. Let me know how you feel about it!

Update: If you haven’t heard the new single Heaven, check out my write up here.

Lyrics here, more below:
The angel of love was upon me
And Lord, I felt so small
The legs beneath me weakened
I began to crawl

Confused and contented
I slithered around
Reveal is beyond me
I was lost. I was found

The angel of love was upon me
And Lord, I felt so weak
I felt my tongue move in my mouth
And I began to speak

A strange kind of language
I don’t understand
A babbling fountain
I couldn’t have planned

Oh leave me here
Forever more
I found the peace
I’ve been searching for

The angel of love was upon me
And Lord, I felt so high
I swear I could have reached up
Placed my hands upon the sky

A radiant rainbow
Was following me around
With elevated senses
I can see and taste sound

The angel of love was upon me
And Lord, I felt so clean
Like a preacher on Sunday
My heart was serene

I waded into the water
I was bathed. I was drowned
Like the sinners before me
I knelt down on the ground

Oh leave me here
Forever more
I found the peace
I’ve been searching for

Oh let me sleep
Forever more
I found the peace
I’ve been searching for

I love the sound of this song, especially off the bat. Such a dirty, swampy blues sound that sounds like the devil himself had arrived. And that is the beauty of the music and the lyrics of this one. It starts out dark and evil and slowly finds its way back to the light. The opening vision of being small, unable to be revealed, slithering around. By the end, speaking a new language, feeling good and clean. Brilliant religious symbolism for the journey. Uplifting finish. Just brilliant.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Angel of Love – Depeche Mode

  1. avatarnemo says:

    I’ve been one of the 60k in Milan on july the 18th and…believe me: you’re absolutely right! All my appreciations man!

  2. Jack says:

    Thanks for the lyrics and I totally agree with you about the comment you made on the song, this song is amazing 🙂

  3. JW says:

    Thanks for posting the correct lyrics! Incredible tune. The snowflakes on your page were screwing with my eyes at first – heh heh.

Leave a Reply

