Devastation Surge

As fragile as I am
Lost in a sea of broken shells
I spin on mercilessly
With dark force menace

I linger at times
Sucking up souls
before powering on
To my next goal

I slash like a knife
Across land and seascape
Tossing life like
It is meaningless to me

A tragic surge
A wonderwall of water
Punishing winds that tear
And what do you call me?
Senseless names that belie
The truth of what I am
The brutal aftermath
Of my devastation surge

I will bring you down
As sure as wind and rain
You’ll see me coming for hours
And it’ll seem like I never end

Some will escape my wrath
Others, not so much
Taking whatever I choose
In a senseless buffet of pain

So don’t act like that
Don’t think you will escape
Because, if I so choose
You will surely pay
A tragic surge
A wonderwall of water
Punishing winds that tear
And what do you call me?
Senseless names that belie
The truth of what I am
The brutal aftermath
Of my devastation surge

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

