And When She Looked At Me

You asked me how I felt
I said “I don’t know”
“How unusual”, you said, dryly
“You’re a douchebag, to the bone”

I looked at you sideways
And replied, ‘You would know”
“You’re just a fucking baby”, you said
“Time for you to go”

“Don’t you ever get tired”, I replied
“Of always being right? Of all the blame?
Treating me like dirt every day
Like it’s some kind of game”?

And when she looked at me
And when she looked through me
Right then I knew
Right then I knew
We were through
So very through

I grabbed my stuff
What little there was of mine
Thinking “I should’ve known”
Saying “You didn’t even try”

Cold and dead
Her eyes, and us
I said “Well, goodbye”
Her: “I hear the bus”

And when she looked at me
And when she looked through me
Right then I knew
Right then I knew
We were through
So very through

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

