Not ‘If’

Change

If you started with a thought
Something that grew
And you turned it all kinetic
Instead of letting it stew

If you wanted to make a statement
About love and life
That made you open your mind
Avoiding the knife

If you wanted to do the deed
One that really mattered
Changing things in a big way
Even if it left you tattered

You can make the change
You can be the difference
You can find the way
And lead us all in action
I am who you need
I am someone special
I can see a new world
Not ‘if’ the world will let me

If I want to count
I can’t look for your acceptance
I have to do what’s needed
For me to make that difference

If I want to feel good
I have to do the right thing
I can’t let you impede me
Nor let your words just sting me

If I can’t convince you
At least I know I tried
But you should think for a moment
Because we are on the same side

I can make the change
I can be the difference
I can find the way
And lead us all in action
You are who you need
You are someone special
You can see a new world
Not ‘if’ the world will let you

World  on Fire

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

