Demons – The National

Watch/Listen here:

I’ve been a fan of this band for many years. Their music is always intriguing and his voice is so beguiling and surprising. Their new album Trouble Will Find Me is out May 21, 2013. Get it. They never disappoint.

Lyrics here, more below:
When I think of you in the city
The sight of you among the sites
I get this sudden sinking feeling
Of a man about to fly

Never kept me up before
Now I’ve been awake for days
I can’t fight it anymore
I’m going through an awkward phase

I am secretly in love with
Everyone that I grew up with
Do my crying underwater
I can’t get down any farther

All my drowning friends can see
Now there is no running from it
It’s become the crux of me
I wish that I could rise above it

But I stay down
With my demons
But I stay down
With my demons

Passing buzzards in the sky
Alligators in the sewers
I don’t even wonder why
Hide among the under views

Huddle with them all night long
The worried talk to god goes on
I sincerely tried to love it
Wish that I could rise above it

But I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons

Can I stay here?
I can sleep on the floor
Paint the blood
And hang the palms on the door

Do not think I’m going places anymore
Wanna see the sun come up above New York
Oh everyday I start so great
Then the sunlight dips

Less I’ve learned
The more I see
The pythons and the limbs
Do not know what’s wrong with me

Sours in the cup
When I walk into a room
I do not light it up
Fuck

So I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons
I stay down with my demons

Such a simple and so very complex look at a man. I think broken relationship. I think substance abuse. But I also think of all of us. Hiding in plain sight with the evils that live in all of us. How we put those masks on every day to hide our insecurities, our depression, our pain and fears, ourselves. I have always loved the intense writing that comes with this band. I feel his ache in every vocal moment. Brilliant.

This entry was posted in Music, Song Analysis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

