Bono, Why Are You Interviewing With A Hate Group?

Bono

Okay, so I have a bone to pick here. This past week Bono was interviewed by Christian group Focus On The Family. The discussion ranged around his family history, his faith and his activism.

You can listen to the entire interview here.

And some of you may question my motives here as I am not shy about my agnosticism/atheism.

This is not about religion. Bono is very open about his faith (though this may be one of the most open discussions of it I’ve heard) and you can obviously hear that throughout U2’s music.

No, my issue is who he allowed himself to be interviewed by.

Focus On The Family promotes many things but two that upset me the most are Creationism (belief that God created the world in 6 days, the world is 6,000 years old, man walked with dinosaurs) as well as their actions against the gay community.

That they support Creationism is madness given the scientific evidence to the contrary. And I have no idea why anyone with faith can’t accept evidence and still feel supported by faith.

And as the world continues to move forward (evidenced by the U.S. Supreme Court rulings today striking down the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and Prop 8 in California) in understanding that humans love whether it be man and woman, man and man or woman and woman. So a group that thinks human love is wrong or Satanic or hurtful are messengers of hate.

And what does that have to do with Bono?

By allowing his name to appear on their website. By allowing his image to appear in their advertising. By allowing his voice to be heard with them, he is telling people that this group is good. That what they do is okay. And maybe some of it is. But by associating himself with ignorance and hate he is both tarnishing his own image and work and elevating theirs to where it does not belong.

There is no way he doesn’t understand this. If he had called these issues out in the interview, it might be different. But he does not. And that sends a message. It says ‘I’m Bono and I approve this message’ despite the message being one of intolerance.

How? After all these years does he not wonder how this could be used? He, who has been openly supportive of the gay community (Reference this quote on Mother Jones from 1989: “OK. My bottom line on any sexuality is that love is the most important thing. That love is it. Any way people want to love each other is OK by me. That’s different from abuse, be it homosexual or heterosexual.”) and yet allows them to parade him around as a great ‘get’.

Stunned. Appalled. flabbergasted. Angry. That’s me. Are you?

Bono

This entry was posted in General Commentary, Music, Politics/Religion/Whatever and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bono, Why Are You Interviewing With A Hate Group?

  1. Pingback: Bono – The Dark Side of Philanthropy | Larry Lootsteen's Blog

  2. j says:

    During the interview he says there are many things me and you disagree on. And plus if smart people (like you) do a quick research on bono they would know about him supporting equal rights. But I believe he knows about that organization and what they stand for that’s why he went there remeber Christians always thought aids was punishment for being gay. Bono also said Christians should not judge others for not believing in jesus and etc. And last the Christian community did help push Pres. Bush to pass the aids bill to africa and bono was there to thank them.

  3. Rob says:

    Focus on the Family is a right wing evangelical religious organization, among the most vile in the US. It is sad to see Bono speaking with such a group, but there is precident–he’s met before with vile right wing Christian zealots such as Jesse Helms and Pat Robertson. He needs to distance himself from these idiots, but I think Bono’s credibility has long been gone since he’s just in it for the $$$ these days.

    • Jennifer K says:

      As a long-time U2 fan, I have to agree with you. I will always love U2’s music (though I don’t think they’ve made a truly brilliant album since “Achtung Baby”). U2’s concerts are a thing of wonder; I’ve been going to their concerts since the 1980s. And U2 also inspired me to volunteer, become politically aware, get involved in charitable efforts and informed on social justice issues. However, being a U2 fan has become a bit of a strain as Bono has cozied up to the wealthy, corporations and yes, the religious right in the past decade or so. As a woman who is liberal, part of the religious left, of limited monetary means, and a big supporter of grass roots activism I pretty much feel left out of Bono’s agenda.

  4. Cassie says:

    Bono did this because he is a good Christian. Just because he got interviewed by a group filled with anti-LGBT bigots does not in any way mean he agrees with them.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      That wasn’t my point though. His speaking with this group and allowing them to advertise his name gives them a legitimacy they do not deserve. And he should know better.

  5. Andy says:

    Larry, I appreciate you posting your thoughts and reasoning here. Although I don’t have time to respond to everything in your post, I want to briefly respond to one thing. Your comment about the creation is out of place in this argument. Creation has nothing to do with hate, and the fact that you bring it up in this argument is only for the purpose of making your audience think that the group you oppose are nothing but mad idiots. If you are opposed to a group that, in your opinion, is hateful, may I suggest you avoid a hateful tone in the sharing of your views of those you find fault with? All that does is make your post come across and ignorant and hateful itself…
    Do I believe in a creation? Yes. Do I believe that man walked with dinosaurs? No. Do I believe it look literally 144 hours to create the earth? No.
    Are you interested in learning what I actually believe? I would be happy to share if you are truly curious. Until that time it is silly to lump all Christians into the same category, which your post did. I for one am glad that Bono will interact with all people because when we start shunning and killing interaction and conversation with groups we might disagree with, progress stops.

    • larrylootsteen says:

      Creation (in the form that is taught as Creationism) is ignorance in the face of scientific evidence. As I said, it does not preclude God but cannot be used as ‘truth’. I put that in because ignorance and hate go hand in hand. I appreciate what you are saying that it is not specific to hate but it is to ignorance. In my mind they are related. But I do hear you there. Thanks for pointing that out. I do appreciate it.

      • Andy says:

        So just to be clear, you do understand that many Christians believe in the creation, and also believe that the Earth took a very long time to form, just as science suggests, right? When I think of a “day” as referenced in the scriptures, it is better translated as a ‘period of time.’ fyi.

      • larrylootsteen says:

        I totally know that. This group teaches the literal creation from the bible. As I said elsewhere, the scientific evidence does not eliminate God as creator. Just refutes the story in its literal form.

Leave a Reply

