Repost: My 5 Favourite Christmas Songs

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

It is, after all, that time of year! I’ll do a proper countdown from 5 to 1! Some choices may seem odd but hey, they are mine!

#5 Christmas Is Coming
A classic from forever! A Charlie Brown Christmas!!! Can’t get better from the classics department!

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

#4 Fuck Christmas – Eric Idle
Okay, so rude as it can possibly be. Bypass it if it offends your delicate sensibilities! I love this! Hysterical! An absolute classic from Eric Idle!

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

#3 Christmas Wrapping – The Waitresses
This may fall into the WTF category for people’s impressions of me. I’m a sappy sentimentalist at times. I just thought this was fun, different and a little goofy but nice!

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

#2 Little Drummer Boy/Peace On Earth – Bing Crosby and David Bowie
I remember watching this when it first aired. STUNNED to see Bowie with old Der Bingle. When I heard he was going to be on Bing’s Christmas special I couldn’t wait because I couldn’t imagine what they’d do. I was SO blown away!! Brilliant! Still gives me shivers!

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

#1 Fairytale of New York – The Pogues
This embraces all of it! It is touching, slightly rude, almost traditional and a little twisted!! There is nothing not to love about it! And it is, along with my #2 choice a must hear every single year! A touch of the Irish never hurts! Enjoy!

Merry Christmas everyone! Don’t be afraid to share your favourites in the comments section!!

Long String of Christmas Lights from AnimateIt.net

This entry was posted in General Commentary, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

